Conducted by: MÁTÉ HÁMORI


  • Mosonyi: Funeral Music for the Death of István Széchenyi
  • Liszt: Two Episodes from Lenau’s Faust
  • Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra

1860 was an especially abundant year in Mihály Mosonyi’s career as a composer, his best compositions were conceived then, including Funeral Music for the Death of István Széchenyi originally composed for piano then arranged for orchestra. The particular structure of Funeral Music resembles the arch form fancied even by Bartók (it may be recognized in the overall structure of Concerto), and, of course in its abstract musical manner, it evokes the symbol of the Széchenyi oeuvre, the Chain Bridge. Subsequently, Liszt transferred the dolorous pattern evoking the tolling of bells to his piano piece composed to the memory of count László Teleky. In 1860, Liszt still could not commemorate Széchenyi’s death, for by this time he was occupied by assignments for composing like Two episodes. He would later bid farewell from the greatest Hungarian by the soul-stirring lament of his series Historical Hungarian Portraits.

All events of the series

Supported by: