Ravel | Piano Concerto in G Major

Strauss | The Knight of the Rose Suite

Brahms | Symphony No. 2


Featuring | Dong Hyek Lim – piano

Conducted by Máté Hámori

Brahms’ Symphony in D Major is a music of joy: everything the esteemed predecessors from Bach to Beethoven compacted into this key: nature, splendor, joy of life and the miracle of creation. The other two compositions carry forward this joy, though in other colors. One of Ravel’s outstanding works is Piano Concerto in G Major, nevertheless, it is undeservedly seldom performed. We have been performing Strauss’ great symphonic poems in our concerts – this time, we bring you one of the most light-hearted operas involving into sounds all the grace of the turn of the century: The Night of the Rose (all we can perform without any singer).

logo swiss uj