Schumann | Theme and Variations in E-flat major for piano (Ghost Variations)
Kurtág | Hommage à R. Sch.
Schumann | Adagio and allegro
Schumann | Symphony No.3, the Rheinish
performed by Ádám Balogh – piano | Gábor Eckhardt – piano | Katalin Madák – viola | Bernát Tószegi – clarinet | Endre Tekula – horn
conductor | Máté Hámori
host | Gábor Eckhardt


As time passed, Schumann’s works were characterized by an ever gloomier tone – as a counterpoint to a happy family life, the hero of our series seemed to get lonely, at least this is what the tone of the works suggest. It is no accident that the last of his piano pieces, still finished with a sane mind, was titled “Ghost Variations”. All the same, an awkward composition of this late era of his, the “Fairy Tales” composed for piano, viola and clarinet, inspired one of the most sensitive composers of our age György Kurtág to write a masterpiece that calls up Schumann’s spirituality. Despite all the awkwardness and introversion, perhaps the composer’s most excellent symphony is the “Rheinish” he composed last, animating by its sounds the waves that accompanied his life.