Performed by: GÁBOR FARKAS (piano)


  • Péter Tiszai: Concerto for String Orchestra
  • Liszt: Danse Macabre
  • Beethoven: Symphony No.5

When Liszt stayed in Italy in the late 1830s, he was deeply impressed by the fresco on the wall of the cemetary in Pisa “The Triumph of Death” including scenes rousing adversary sensations on its left and right sides. On one side one sees three loathsome images of death, on the other side, a group of young lovers making music in a exuberantly blooming garden. The earthly presence of man is represented by three things: spring, youth and music. Péter Tiszai related a visual experience of a similar controversy in relation to his Concerto for String Orchestra: “When searching about images of the last century in old books, randomly two images got next to each other: the first one was an old postcard representing a fabulous landscape on the Austrian–German border. It was beautiful. The other one was the notorious photo taken in the Auschwitz camp with the piled up corpses.” The soloist of Liszt’s extraordinary piano concerto will be Gábor Farkas.




with the support of
Hungarian Holocaust Memorial Year – 2014

Supported by:




All events of the series