Performed by: JÓZSEF BALOG (piano)
Conducted by: MÁTÉ HÁMORI


  • Dukas: The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
  • Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No.5 in F Major, Op.103 ‘The Egyptian’
  • Berlioz: Fantastic Symphony

Only a year’s difference lie between Saint-Saëns’s Egyptian Piano Concerto (1896) and Dukas’s orchestral scherzo The Sorcerer’s Apprentice (1897). The first one is a composition without a program, though very permeated with actual adventures. This piece was conceived during a visit to the temple city of Luxor, and it parades several musical themes of an exotic nature. Once, the composer stated that this piano concerto evokes the memory of a sea journey. The “poetic” content of the piece by Dukas is much more definite, since this splendid symphonic movement is the musical reflection of a ballad of Goethe. The principal figure is an apprentice of a sorcerer who, after the old magician left home, wants to experiment the stealthily acquired trickeries. This composition featuring two storytellers would be inconceivable without the key masterpiece that, more than six decades earlier, fundamentally changed the musical thinking of the 19th century: Berlioz’s Fantastic Symphony.

All events of the series

Sponsored by: