Performed by: ZOLTÁN FEJÉRVÁRI (piano)
Conducted by: ZOLTÁN KOCSIS


  • Bartók: Dance Suite
  • Stravinsky: Capriccio for Piano and Orchestra
  • Debussy: Iberia
  • Ravel: Le tombeau de Couperin (arranged by Zoltán Kocsis and Ravel)

There is something weird in the way the two twin stars of the 20th century, Stravinsky and Bartók, think at the same “wavelength”. Coincidences, creative artistic endeavors at the same direction show both conscious and random similarities. The way Dance Suite of 1923 starts with the solo of the bassoon, one inevitably associates to The Rite of Spring presented a decade earlier. And it is also remarkable that both of them felt urgent need to compose a piano concerto for themselves in the mid-1920’s. This is the time Stravinsky composed Capriccio. The modern twin stars of French music, Debussy and Ravel, came to similar artistic outcomes sometimes monitoring, sometimes regardless of each other. Both of them considered the heritage of the French Baroque music of the 18th century (that of Couperin and Rameau) as an orientation point; and both were deeply inspired by Spanish music.

All events of the series

Sponsored by: