Performed by: MIKLÓS PERÉNYI (violoncello)
Conducted by: DOMONKOS HÉJA


  • R. Schumann: Symphony in G Major ‘Zwickau’, WoO 29
  • R. Schumann: Violoncello Concerto in A Minor, op. 129
  • R. Schumann: Symphony No.4 in D Minor, Op. 120

Schumann, caressing ambitions of becoming piano artist and composer, in 1833, considered it was high time to prove his talent in composing a symphony. Nevertheless, for the piece planned to consist of four movements he only accomplished two, and he only sketched some ideas for the third and the fourth. The composer attached hopes for the composition: he hoped his family and friends would understand and acknowledge him in giving up on legal studies for the sake of music.  Well, the symphony Zwickau made no deep impact on the audience nor then, neither later, and even the composer himself had a self-critical relation to his work. For almost a decade he was preparing for the “conquest” of the orchestra. He was then working on Symphony in D Minor which leaves us gaze in wonder the same innovativeness we may find in one of the most extraordinary concertos of the viola repertory. Of course, it may be sound less extraordinary, rather of a classical emanation when performed by Miklós Perényi.

All events of the series

Sponsored by: